Go Back   oOple.com Forums > General > General Race Chat

Old 13-09-2010

Default Buggys or Touring for Beginner Racing?

Hey Guys

I am new to R/C cars. Had a few when I was a kid but nothing really decent. At the young age of 29 =D I have decided to give it ago. i dont really have any experience building kits or anything like that.

I would like to get into racing of somesort whether it be indoor touring cars or buggys outdoors or even both later on.

My question is what is best to start out on? and how easy are the kits to make?

I was thinking of Indoor at mo since winter is coming lol.

Any suggestion on what to buy for starting out? dont want to break the bank incase i damage my first model. I saw on Donny Racing site tehy all run Xrays but these seem quite expensive for a newbie.

Ty for any advice you guys can give a newbie =D
Old 13-09-2010
Spends too long on oOple ...

Send a message via MSN to mark christopher

where are you based? im guessing doncaster?

i would say off road is cheaper and you will learn more about car control

the rtr b4.1 is ideal as an off road buggy, your problem is if your in doncaster is there is no loacl off road club, the nearest track being blyth the nearest club would be york/batley

if you want some costs contact Micheal at mbmodels in leeds (google rccarshop)
Old 13-09-2010

Touring car is probably a bit easier to drive, but can be more expensive.

I would visit all the clubs that are within sensible travelling distance and pick the club you feel the most comfortable with.

I think you will learn alot more if you dont have a stupidly fast car when starting out, you will also break the car less.

If your thinking of going for touring car then you could pick up a second hand car pretty cheaply. Although it often feels like you need the latest kit you dont really. Im racing a 8 year old car onroad and its perfectly competitive (at my ability level)
A good quality servo is the most important thing IMO.