Go Back   oOple.com Forums > Events & Venues > BRCA Nationals & Regionals > East of England

Old 11-06-2013

Default Boughton regional round 7 11th August

It is with regret that I will be having a serious discussion with Colin this week to decide whether or not the final round of the regional series will take place at Boughton.
I have been racing for 20 years now, at various levels, and at national and even European standard for over ten years, and I have to say I have never known anything like the East of England region. I decided not to race in the regionals this year after all that went on over the winter, with intentions of returning to regional racing next year, however, I will not be doing so. I race in the eighth rallycross nationals, and never hear or read anything like what goes on in this section. At the moment I'm not sure if I want Boughton Raceway to get involved with anything to with the regional series, which I think is really disappointing.
The region has come a very long way over the last few years, and all the hard work that has been put in could very easily undone, purely through the bad press it receives on forums and Facebook. If I have read things which has put me off returning to regional racing, the chances are others have too.
The Boughton summer series will continue to run, and hopefully the regional too. I will have to decide. What I find weird is that the club meetings and summer series seem to be great fun and have no issues. As soon as the word "regional" gets added to the meeting name, it brings out different behaviour.
Obviously this doesn't apply to everybody, I find that those who race at our summer series to be most friendly and helpful, if I didn't I wouldn't run it. I still enjoy running meetings, and the social side of things trackside.
I'm sure Colin will keep everyone updated.

Norfolks Number 1 All Weather Astro Venue.
Old 11-06-2013

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcmodelweek View Post