Go Back   oOple.com Forums > General > 1/10th OFF ROAD

Old 30-12-2015

Default Returning to the sport - help me build my buggy please

Hi guys,

I have been out of the sport for a long time. So much has changed since I last raced so I could really do with some help with a build.

I'll be doing indoor club and hopefully the occasional brca regional - 2WD. I've got my heart set on an B5M as i've always been an associated driver. Is the b5m lite the one to go for?

Beyond the kit i'm lost. I want a decent set-up but i'm not going to be gunning for world championships so looking at mid- high kit in respect of esc/motors etc.

I'm also a stick driver so again was looking at the Futaba t4 tranny.

So, A good brushless, lipo fuelled set-up. Not absolute cream of the crop but not budget either.

Any suggestions?

Cheers
Old 30-12-2015

Welcome back back in the 80's I used to run a RC10 and when I came back about four years ago bought an Associated B4; we're now running Schumacher KF2's, with regards to a brushless speed controller you can buy the current LRP Flow Works which is the top of the range for about £110. Regarding motors starting out I'd be looking at 8.5 turn to 10.5 turn.
Old 30-12-2015
Mad Member

Go for the b5m CE
Old 30-12-2015

Stick wise we use the Sanwa Gemini X think they're about £ 150 new.
Old 30-12-2015

Of all the B5Ms, if you're really set on one, the CE is probably the one to plump for. Similar normal mid motor cars, such as the Serpent SRX2 MM, are your best bet if you're running all year round with one car, in both high and low grip.