Go Back   oOple.com Forums > General > I Made This !

Old 21-03-2012

Default Losi XXX-SCT MID

Welcome tinkerers,
This is my first project. This is how it arose...firstly had a day off i was bored. being bored on my day of i went down to the local model shop (TJD MODELS) and was actually going to get some 3MM ply to mess around with but to the side i found fiberglass *WIN* so bought that instead came home and started...
I purchased a atomic carbon cr2 alloy chassis off ebay (4-5 months ago) as well as a PSI Mid gearbox with intention of rebuilding it didn't end up actually doing it but this got me thinking the CR2 is based upon the XXX losi platform which is: XXX-T,XXX CR XXX BK etc.so id intentionally wanted to make a mid stadium buggy. But then with all this craze of late i started to look at the xxx sct low and be hold it was also based on the xxx platform. so i set about making a mid XXX-SCTsct using the atomic style chassis.
I purchased an XXX SCT chassis as this would be were i would get all my measurements from(i say measurement didn't measure anything)my cr2 chassis and a piece of fiberglass. Treated my self to a shinny new drill bit and set about creating an XXX SCT MID.
As the CR2 chassis is narrower than that of the SCT i opted for a narrower piece of fiberglass. Firstly i found the centre of the CR2 chassis and the fiberglass

I then G clamp the chassis to the fibre glass with the middle likes lining up

Then loaded my shinny new drill (something nice about a new sharp drill bit) and proceed to drill the rear suspension mounting holes. I decided to drill threw the CR2 chassis as it was alloy would help as a guide and make sure holes were bang one. I drill all four and the 5th which is the shock tower mount.

I then got some 3MM nut and bolts and placed four in the hole that i had drilled and nipped them up by hand to secure the chassis to the F-glass and set about drilling some of the other holes.