Go Back   oOple.com Forums > General > 1/10th OFF ROAD

Old 15-05-2012

Question new to club racing

Hello all,

I'm a newbie on here so please forgive me if i'm posting in the wrong area etc. I've been in and around rc cars for ages, but over the past weekend I had the chance to visit my local club - Hinckley RCCC, and i'm now interested in getting into a bit of racing if only for a bit of fun. I'm used to doing a bit of bashing with friends, but all my cars aren't really suitable for the sort of racing they do at the club, so i'm looking at getting something to start me off. Now I don't have a mega budget, but I've been looking at a couple of cars - namely the LRP S10 BX Blast 4wd Brushed, Caster SK10 4wd Brushed, Maverick strada XB EVO brushed, FTX Vantage Brushed, Yokomo B-MAX4 and Schumacher SV.

I've already got spare batteries, radio gear and the odd motor etc, so i'm just after the best I can get that will get me all set to have some great fun, and a good chance of doing well.

Any comments and thoughts most welcome
Old 16-05-2012

Hi!

I just started racing at Hinckley last weekend and loved it!
I is a really friendly club so good choice!

Just restarting after 20+ years things have moved on and so I'm starting from fresh, one thing i've noticed is that cost and availaiblity of spares is important so personally I would and did take that into consideration when getting the new car. So Ii would not go down the Bmax route great cars even from the original dogfighter days but spares are not easy or quick to get hold of here.

You seem very determined to go 4wd is there any reason for that?
You can get more for your money down the 2wd route so it may be worth considering.
For example JE are selling the Cougar SV for £140 ish and spares are easily availaible if not the cheapest! Or there is the Mad Rat which is a capable car.

When you are down next have a lookout for a black BMW estate and say hello.

Dave
Old 16-05-2012
Mad Member