Go Back   oOple.com Forums > Car Talk > Ansmann Racing

Old 28-02-2011

Default What shocks and bearings and general hop-ups? madrat

First off, really sorry if this is a re-post of stuff that has been covered; I have searched the forum but thought I’d drop a post. If there is already a tread on this please PM or post a link.

I'm new to electric RC and have bought a madrat, gone a bit mad and bought 2 lipo batts 5000ma 7.4v and a 5.5t hobbyking motor and esc kit (and a motor heat sink and fan). I'm not looking to win races just have fun and a bit of bashing (bashing is such a harsh term). So I’m looking to get some hopups to enable the car to handle the extra power etc.

I've heard the shocks are rubbish and would like to know what my best option is to replace them if I want something durable but on the cheap side of things.

Also should I buy a bearings kit? If so are there many options of bearings? And again which would you say are good cheap and durable?

And last, are there any metal/alloy/carbon/etc bits that I should get? Some of these cars seem to have weak points that break again and again which are easily fixed by buying a few more expensive parts.
Old 28-02-2011

Hi mate,

I got my bearings from an eBay member called " rcbearings " for a tenner.
Metal sealed bearings are fine for inside the transmission, but be sure to get rubber sealed bearings for the wheels if you drive in dirty locations. Rcbearings supply either.
Re the shocks, I can't help, as mine are still fine. I'm sure somebody will be along to help soon though.
Again, i've not broken any parts on mine yet, but i'd recommend an Rpm b4 wide bumper as it's saved me in some minor crashes.
For hop-ups use http://www.tcmodels.net
They are a brilliant source of aluminium and carbon fibre parts and charge less than 1/2 price of what UK retailers sell them for.
I've attached an image of the said bumper that's proved invaluable.