Go Back   oOple.com Forums > Car Talk > Ansmann Racing

Old 27-04-2010

Default Mad Rat = Good comeback?

Hey M8s. I have realy been looking at the Mad Rat and I must say I like how it looks. I have been driving B4, BK2 CR for a few years but bin off from the hobby for a while and want to get back in to it but have a smaller budget now then back then.
Would the Mad Rat be a good choice?

I have B4 chocks laying around and som other bit and bobs that I could use for the car.

Sorry if this has been asked befor .

Thanks

/Fredrik
Old 27-04-2010
*SuPeRsTaR mEmBeR*

the madrat is a very good chassis for the money. just need to add ballraces for about 7-8 quid. The kit now comes with a stronger t-piece so reliability is far better.

As you may have read, the kit shocks are terrible, so if you have B4 ones knocking around put them straight on, it makes a huge difference.

It is basically a quarter price RB5, and is quite capable on the track when the shocks are changed. Spares are pretty cheap too.

Ansmann Racing UK

RIP - MicroTech Racing

Trader Feedback
Old 27-04-2010

Thanks for your replay jim76. I thought of buying bearings for it and a hobbywing 60amp sensord system. Put some weights up front to keep it on the track.

I think i will place my order realy soon =)
Old 27-04-2010
Mad Member

I managed to put mine in the B-final in the mid south regional at the PDA last Sunday.They are good for the money. Decent shocks are an absolute must.
If you are racing for fun like me its a good choice.And its always nice to beat the more expensive chassis that are around.
Old 27-04-2010
*SuPeRsTaR mEmBeR*

yeah, get some little sticky lead weights, or wheel balance weights from kwikfit etc. I stuck around 150g of weight around the steering rack and servo in mine to keep the front end down and improve the steering on power. Apart from the lead and the shocks it's a standard car, and goes really well.

Ansmann Racing UK

RIP - MicroTech Racing

Trader Feedback
Old 27-04-2010