Go Back   oOple.com Forums > General > Electrics

Old 24-10-2020

Default Moving from crystals to new 2.4ghz. Is range significantly better or hype?

Starting RC again after a 10 year break and I'm still with my old RTR level crystal transmitters and receivers.

Can I ask anyone familiar with both the old crystals and the 2.4ghz stuff. Is it really noticeably much better in terms of range? Also the glitching I sometimes get.

I'm still a bit of a novice driving my buggy in the street, park etc, though I do now plan to join a club next year.

Just want a few opinions before buying some new kit, and potentially being disappointed. Thanks
Old 24-10-2020
Mad Member

I was using 40mhz for a season or 2 when I came back to racing. Good quality kit tho not sure what you are using. This was more than fine at the track. Guess the range wont be as good in the park. Only changed to 2.4ghz due to peer pressure
Old 28-10-2020
Mad Member

I'm no expert on this, so someone please correct me if I'm wrong, but I think it is like this:

Low frequency: Longer range (waves carry further) but less data capacity (fewer 'waves' to carry information in);
High frequency: Shorter range, but more data capacity (more 'waves').

I guess it would also depend on how much energy you are using to send out your signal, but this is why a low frequency may be interesting for some applications (such as military) whereas your WiFi connection benefits from using a very high frequency, which is why many WiFi routers support 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz connection: One for an acceptable range, one for speed so long as you are nearby.