Go Back   oOple.com Forums > General > 12th & 10th On Road

Old 16-02-2011

Question My local club is on road..

My local club (WLRC) races 1/10 saloon cars. Now I've never been there but the track sure looks good and it looks like a blast. I have no experience with on road cars though, having only 2wd buggies. I have a chance to get a cheap brushless motor so I'm thinking I might keep my eyes open for a 1/10 saloon and run something around 5000kv in it. That should be competitive for racing I hope.

I don't want to spend the earth (read new TC6 factory team kit ... ouch!), but I can spend a medium amount. What's my best option? Best bang for the buck I mean.

Thanks for your help all input welcome
Old 16-02-2011

You'll get good advice trackside I am sure.

I'm assuming the motor you have your eye on is sensorless in which case it probably won't fit in to any of the classes they race at the club.

If I was buying a first car for on-road on a moderate budget, first choice would be a Tamiya. Either a TT-01 (which is easy to build and drives well but will struggle with big power) or TA-05 (which is a bit more complex but much better suited to faster motors), perhaps an XB (RTR) version if the price is right (at UK prices, they are often the same price as a kit!).

The other car worth considering right now is the Schumacher Mi1. A slightly dated overall design that they have brought back into production, but it is pretty solid and a UK product.
Old 16-02-2011

Yes I was looking at a sensorless motor. In BRCA rules brushless motors have to be sensored? They dont mention anything (that I could see) about sensored or sensorless on their web site.

Thanks for the other input. What do you think of a TC3 or maybe tc4? I see they still sell the tc4. I would be buying second hand.
Old 16-02-2011