Go Back   oOple.com Forums > Car Talk > Tamiya

Old 07-09-2011

Default 201 setup help

Hi everyone, my first post here and I'm looking for some help please.

I have a TRF201 as the latest cure to my Tamiya addiction. I am still fairly new to RC as a whole and pretty much brand new to 2WD buggy racing.

I race at my local track (HNMC) which is astro turf. I am using pretty much stock setup given in the manual with yellow mini spikes on the rear and stagger ribs on the front. The problem I have appears to be far too much front grip.

In the dry the car grip rolls on every single corner unless I run some crazy positive camber. I believe this makes the car feel very on edge too.

In the wet as soon as I touch the throttle the car spins out, I managed to combat this last race by using brand new rear tyres.

I was thinking about trying some normal rib tyres (if that's the correct term) to reduce the grip at the front. Is this a reasonable idea or a big no no for astro? If so any suggestions on what ones to try?

Also does anyone have any suggestions on what I can do to make this car settle down and drive as stable as my other Tamiyas?

Any advice is really appreciated as there is no one else that runs a Tamiya at the club I go to and I just love my Tamiyas too much to buy anything else. Right now, though, I feel a bit in the dark being a newbie alone in the mine field that is setup.
Old 08-09-2011

couple of things worth checking:

1. slipper clutch - does it actually slip when you apply the throttle?
2. dampers - do they move smoothly?
3. ride height - with all the radio gear including battery, how high does the rear end sit? the driveshafts should be level (i.e. a straight line across the horizontal axis).