Go Back   oOple.com Forums > Car Talk > X-Factory

Old 07-01-2012

Default X6 Sq gearing help please!

I'm new to the X6 Sq and I want to run a 10.5 so its manageable to start off with. If I'm using the 78T spur what pinion size should I be using as a starting point?
Old 07-01-2012
Mad Member

Start at 27
Old 07-01-2012

Many thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by ian h View Post
Start at 27
Old 07-01-2012

Quote:
Start at 27

Really??? Surely it's dependant on surface, track layout, motor type etc, I generally run 22T occasionally upto 26T but it all depends. I'd look for recomended ratio for your specific motor first.
Old 07-01-2012

Send a message via Skype™ to Timee80

i use a 29t on my speed passion if i dont use boost (on a big track anyway) so 27t sounds about right to me to start with
Old 07-01-2012
Mad Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeilRalph77 View Post
Really??? Surely it's dependant on surface, track layout, motor type etc, I generally run 22T occasionally upto 26T but it all depends. I'd look for recomended ratio for your specific motor first.
I never used to run less than 27 for a 10.5. That was using Novak, speed passion or LRP. This was high grip, carpet and astro.
Old 08-01-2012

Thanks for the info guys.

I presume the box ratio is the same as the B4. Started testing today with a 27t pinion and its was a good starting point giving me a ratio of 7.5. I then went up to a 31t which was fine at about 6.5 and down to a 24t which would give me about 8.5. The 10.5 motor was more than fast enough and with that pinion range it gives me plenty to gear up or down depending on the surface.
Really looking forward to racing the X6sq in the summer
Old 08-01-2012
Mad Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPaul View Post
Thanks for the info guys.